Understanding Point System and How It Affects Your Driver’s License
Defense Attorneys Helping New Mexico Drivers Keep their License
Like other states, New Mexico employs the driving point system to determine which auto insurance rates individuals may have, and whether they can keep their driver’s licenses.
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) tracks all traffic offenses and citations, then they record points against your driver’s license. When you accumulate too many points against your license, you face serious penalties that include:
- Driver’s license suspension, revocation, or cancellation.
- Driving restrictions.
- Fines to the court and the MVD.
- Driving improvement courses that are mandatory to reinstate a driver’s license or remove the temporary suspension hold.
How the New Mexico Point System Operates
If you are convicted of a traffic citation, you will receive points against your driver’s license. These points are added by the authorities at the MVD, not by the police. Some points obtained against your license will depend on traffic citations. More severe citations will carry higher point values.
Some violations that add points to your driver’s license include:
- Exceeding the speed limit
- Not obeying traffic signals and signs
- Not yielding
- Racing in the streets
- Not signaling
- Improper turns
- Reckless and aggressive driving
Anything that threatens the safety of others on the road, or that violates the rules of the road, will result in a point against your driver’s license.
Higher Insurance Premiums Follow
Even if you have numerous points against your license and are allowed to keep it, it is likely that your insurance for automobiles registered in your name will increase. This is because the more points you have, the more liability insurers have; therefore, they are going to charge you an increased rate to cover their likely losses in the future.
You will most likely see insurance rates continue to rise with the more points you add. Depending on how many points are added after a single traffic citation, your premiums may rise significantly.
Can You Check Your Driving Record Points?
You do not need to go to the MVD to request a point sheet. Instead, you can request your driving record online. On the online report, you will see if you have a revoked or suspended license. Also, you may verify how many points are against your license.
When You Drive with a Suspended or Revoked Driver’s License
If you have had your license suspended or revoked because of too many points or a serious traffic infraction, do not drive. Doing so could lead to more severe penalties.
When you drive on a suspended license or a license that has been revoked, you will most likely be charged with a misdemeanor. With that charge comes penalties that include:
- Four days to one year in jail.
- Fine of as much as $1,000.
- Both jail and fine penalties.
If your license was suspended or revoked because of a DUI offense, then you will likely face harsher penalties for driving on a suspended or revoked license. These penalties may include seven days in jail and up to one year, and a minimum fine of $300.
Your driver’s license could be permanently canceled if you drove while on a suspended license and caused another accident, committed a crime, or harmed someone.
Did You Drive on a Suspended License? Do You Want to Avoid Losing Your License After a DUI?
After an arrest, the first person you should call is a criminal defense attorney in New Mexico. The team at New Mexico Criminal Law Offices is here to assist you with your case.
Schedule a no-obligation consultation now by calling 505-200-2982 or requesting more information online.