meet the attorneys case results

Category Archives: DUI/DWI

New Mexico Criminal Law Blog

← Older posts
drugged driving

Do You Always Lose Your License after a DUI?

Posted on by JACK MKHITARIAN

A DUI in New Mexico is a serious offense, and you can lose your driver’s license. However, not all DUIs result in a loss of driving privileges. Therefore, it is important that you understand which situations warrant a loss of… Read More

Can a Minor Be Charged with a DUI?

Posted on by JACK MKHITARIAN

You might assume that if you’re a minor, you cannot be charged with a DUI – but you’d be wrong. In fact, minors (anyone under the age of 21 years) with a BAC of 0.02 percent or more will be… Read More

What Is the BAC Limit to Be Charged with a DUI?

Posted on by JACK MKHITARIAN

In New Mexico, you can face DUI charges when your BAC registers at 0.08 percent or more. However, that amount can change, depending on the type of driver’s license you have and your age. In New Mexico, it is illegal… Read More

DUI meaning

What Are the Classifications of a DUI?

Posted on by JACK MKHITARIAN

Most crimes are not single crimes; instead, they have various classifications. Those classifications can determine the penalty involved if you are convicted of the crime. DUI (or DWI in New Mexico) is no stranger to this. The Types of DWIs… Read More

New Mexico DUI Attorney - New Mexico Criminal Law Offices

Think Twice before You Refuse a Breathalyzer Test – You Could Still be Charged with a DUI

Posted on by JACK MKHITARIAN

You had a few drinks, and now you are driving home. While you thought you were okay to drive, you find yourself being pulled over by law enforcement. Now you are facing a sobriety field test, and the officer is… Read More

drugged driving

What Is an Aggravated DUI?

Posted on by JACK MKHITARIAN

In New Mexico, a DUI or DWI is driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more. While most people are aware of this, many do not realize there is a secondary offense known as the aggravated… Read More

Felony DUI

5 DUI Excuses That Will Get You Nowhere with Law Enforcement

Posted on by JACK MKHITARIAN

You had too much to drink, but thought you were okay to drive – only to find yourself on the side of the road participating in a sobriety check. When your BAC came in over the legal limit, you were… Read More

dui per se

How Do I Get an Ignition Interlock Device?

Posted on by JACK MKHITARIAN

If you were convicted of a DUI in New Mexico, one of the standard punishments is to use an ignition interlock device (IID). The device allows you to reinstate your driver’s license with the assumption that you will use the… Read More

fight dui

Top Reasons to Fight Your DUI Charge

Posted on by New Mexico Criminal Law Offices

It is easy enough to assume, if it is your first time in court or first ever DUI, that pleading guilty is the fastest way to get the case over with and move on. What people do not realize is… Read More

lookback dui

What Are the Lookback Periods for a DUI in New Mexico?

Posted on by New Mexico Criminal Law Offices

Most states, including New Mexico, impose lookback periods. Lookback periods allow the courts to consider offenses within a specific range. And if offenses fall within that lookback period, you could be charged with a second, third, or fourth offense. The… Read More

← Older posts