Clearing your name is our #1 priority.

meet the attorneys case results
  • New Mexico Concealed Carry Laws Decoded

    Posted on by JACK MKHITARIAN

    New Mexico authorizes open carry without a license for individuals at least 19 years old. However, carrying a concealed weapon is a different matter. The New Mexico Department of Public Safety is responsible for issuing concealed handgun permits to qualified individuals.

    Carrying a concealed weapon without a license is a petty misdemeanor that is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $500.

    An attorney can outline the details of a concealed handgun license in New Mexico and determine whether you qualify to apply for one. Contact an attorney today to discuss New Mexico concealed carry laws and how they affect your rights.

    Overview of New Mexico Concealed Carry Laws

    New Mexico law (N.M. Stat. Ann. § 30-7-2) states that it is unlawful to carry a concealed, loaded firearm unless the accused is:

    • Carrying the concealed firearm on their residence or on real property they own or control;
    • Carrying in a private automobile for lawful protection of themselves or others;
    • A peace officer lawfully discharging their duties; or
    • In possession of a valid concealed handgun license issued by the Department of Safety.

    The minimum requirements for a concealed handgun license (CHL) are being over the age of 21 and completing a 15-hour handgun safety course that includes live-fire instruction. The applicant must also pass a criminal history check and mental health records check (N.M. Stat. Ann § 29-19-4). Other factors that can disqualify someone from obtaining a permit include:

    • A felony indictment or conviction;
    • An addiction to alcohol or controlled substance;
    • Pleading guilty to a crime of violence within the past ten years;
    • A DUI conviction within the past five years;
    • An assault, battery, or domestic violence conviction; or
    • A conviction for possession or abuse of a controlled substance.

    New Mexico does not issue CHLs to out-of-state residents unless they are active-duty military members or their family members permanently stationed in the state.

    Does My New Mexico Concealed Carry License Extend to Other States?

    New Mexico recognizes concealed carry permits from states with reciprocity agreements as long as the permit carrier is 21 years or older. Some of the states’ permits honored in New Mexico include:

    • Alaska,
    • Arizona,
    • Arkansas,
    • Colorado,
    • Delaware,
    • Tennessee,
    • Texas,
    • Virginia,
    • West Virginia, and
    • Wyoming.

    Just because New Mexico honors permits from these states does not mean they all honor New Mexico’s concealed carry permit. If you plan to travel out of state, check the concealed carry laws before leaving.

    Applying for a Concealed Handgun License in New Mexico

    The New Mexico concealed handgun license application takes approximately 30 days to process. The license lasts four years, but the holder must complete a two-hour refresher course two years after their license is issued. Licenses for members of the military and law enforcement last for five years. The initial license fee is $100. Renewing your license costs $75.

    Contact New Mexico Criminal Law Offices Today to Discuss Concealed Carry Laws in New Mexico

    Our team at the New Mexico Criminal Law Offices has focused on helping New Mexico residents navigate the criminal justice system since 1997. We stay updated on constantly evolving firearm legislation to inform our clients about recent changes. Contact our office today if you have questions about concealed carry in New Mexico.