How to Handle Your Teen’s DUI Charges in New Mexico
If your teen has been charged with a DUI, you are likely feeling a mix of emotions over the situation. You may be angry, but very relieved that your teen is alive and unharmed, and worried about the pending legal issues. New Mexico has strict DUI laws, and heavily punishes teens caught drinking and driving. The fact is that there is a difficult road ahead, but hiring an experienced DUI attorney will help you navigate the legal process with a greater chance of a positive outcome.
Teen DUI Charges in New Mexico
According to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), 1 in 10 teens surveyed admitted to drinking and driving within the last 30 days. While teen drinking and driving has gone down 54% since 1991, the shocking fact is that young drivers (age 16 to 20) who drink are seventeen times more likely to die in a crash than a young driver who is sober. When you consider that young drivers are three times more likely to be involved in a fatal crash than experienced drivers, it’s clear that the last thing young, inexperienced drivers should do is to drink and drive — but young people make mistakes. Peer pressure comes into play in many cases, and teenagers are far more susceptible to this pressure than most adults.
For those who are 21 or over, the legal limit for an individual’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08%. For underage drivers, the legal limit is a mere .02%. This means that just one beer can cause a teen driver to exceed the legal limit. The penalties for DUI offenses in New Mexico are particularly harsh for underage drivers. If your child is convicted, the penalties can include up to 90 days in jail and fines up to $500, for a first time offense. The penalties are increased significantly for repeat offenders. Beyond the legal problems associated with the offense, a DUI conviction can affect future opportunities, as it could result in missed school and expulsion from extra-curricular activities. The conviction can also impact the ability to find gainful employment.
Speak With a New Mexico DUI Attorney Today
If you received a call from the police and learned that your child was arrested for DUI, you are likely upset, scared, and angry. Your teen is potentially facing very serious consequences. Be as reassuring and compassionate as you can — your child will be frightened. There has been a serious error in judgment, but there are options available that could turn the situation around — your teen needs your support.
Fortunately, there are effective legal strategies to fight a DUI charge. At New Mexico Criminal Law Offices, we are experienced in defending teens accused of DUI offenses. We believe that one mistake should not ruin a young person’s future.
It is not advised that you attempt to deal with the legal issues on your own. DUI is a criminal offense, and your son or daughter needs a seasoned DUI defense attorney who has extensive experience in defending young drivers. We have handled many, many underage DUI cases successfully; we’ve fought and won cases, and we will put the full force of our experience and knowledge to work for you. Contact our firm today.